Vacation and living is good.

I feel like a kid on the first day of summer and in a way I am. I leave tomorrow for my annual two weeks on Hollywood beach. I’ve rented the same house for fourteen years. Closing my eyes, I can see every detail of every room. This is a special place for me. It is heaven on earth or as close as I’ve come in my time on this planet.
The weather is always a steady seventy degrees with a stiff ocean breeze to ruffle your hair. Sea birds abound while dolphins dive and ride the waves. The sound of the surf is broken by the cry of gulls and a raucous sea lion or two. People are blessedly in short supply. I can walk for hours on this pristine shore line and maybe see a few two legged travelers.
A writer’s paradise where there are few distractions and an endless display of nature’s bounty. It is said that you never step in the same ocean twice. This I think is a good thing. It makes every moment a treasure and an adventure for the senses. I for one can’t wait to kick of my shoes and wiggle my toes in the sand.

About Casey Knight

Professor, author, mother, and nature lover.
This entry was posted in reading, writing and walking in the surf and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

