Boomer Humor

I am not sure when it dawned on me that I was a senior citizen. Perhaps, when I got my first senior discount and it didn’t annoy me. Or maybe it was when I started seeing my stylist more often than my primary care physician. Who knows and honestly who cares. As a college coach, I am acutely aware that by the time I learn the latest technology it is already obsolete. A perfect example is the first time I drove one of the college’s new vans and couldn’t figure out how to turn off the radio. No, I’m not senile- I turned off the thing and removed the key. The music played on. I sat in the van so long I nearly missed the start of the game. When I finally gave up and got out of the van the radio turned off. Who knew! I was driving an eight year old Honda. Technology like my gray hair just keeps on advancing.

As a writer I’ve learned more about social media than I ever hoped too. It is a never ending means of reaching out to total strangers, friends, family and the world in general. I used to lament and still do the demise of letter writing. Snail mail no longer brings well thought out well-crafted messages from friends and family. All this has been replaced by emoticons, tweeter shorthand, and lol way to much internet slang to mention. It all leaves me smh.

About Casey Knight

Professor, author, mother, and nature lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

