Terminal Hold and other automated obstructions

Any person who has spent countless hours listening to a computer generated automated response from a phone company, cable network or healthcare company understands what a nightmare of impersonal care and red tap one has to navigate. My guess is they simple think that if they make the process as absurd and aggravating as possible that we will lose our will to live and hang up. These huge enterprises have taken the service out of the service industry.

Last week I spent ninety minutes on hold to wait for a representative. All while I’m being subjected to the same inane recording on how I could get all my answers online at http://www.bs.com…over and over. Somewhere around the fortieth minute my inner voice silently urged me to hang in there and not hang up. All while imagined all manner of pithy and clever retorts. When I finally got a human on the line after waiting long enough to apply for social security I was advised to go to my control panel.

I’m thinking thank you there might finally be an end to this saga. Imagine my surprise when I was instructed to click on the remove program button in my control panel where there was an option to simple remove and reinstall the program. Sure enough a cure after ten e-mails and ninety minutes on hold. My mother always told me not to say anything if I couldn’t say anything nice. What I was thinking wasn’t WWJD-it was criminal. Napoleon Hill is no doubt rolling over in his grave.

“If you can’t do great things, do small things in a great way.”

― Napoleon Hill

About Casey Knight

Professor, author, mother, and nature lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

