Death of A Parent

A good man made his transition today, he was my father. He was an only child, a Marine that fought in WWII, the father of seven children and grandfather to seven, and a great grandfather to another handful. Like most children my path with my father wasn’t always an easy one. However, now that I am a parent, I accept that I might have been challenging. Perhaps we were too much alike. None of that matters any more. What matters to me today is that he is now in a better place with my mother, his parents and all the people he touched in his long life.

I learned a great deal from my father. He led by example with his hard work and integrity-two traits that always made me proud of him. Traits I’ve tried hard to emulate in my own life. I guess I’m lucky that he lived into his nineties and that I made it into my sixties with at least one parent alive. It is kind of ironic that in my younger years all I wanted was to be out on my own, making my own way. Now that my parents are gone I realize that I shouldn’t have been in such a hurry. Fortunately, their love and wisdom remains. Their legacy lives on in the lives of their children and their children’s children. God Sped Dad.

About Casey Knight

Professor, author, mother, and nature lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

