What Does Retirement Mean?

I retired from a forty-year career in education in May. The question I’m most often asked is ‘how does it feel.’ There is no hesitation on my part, “amazing.” I’m shocked to learn many people believe their life is now complete. This causes them to focus on death and dying. Shock was my first thought; one I don’t share. Instead, I listened for as a new retiree I have much to learn.

As a spiritual person, I’ve contemplated death and dying off and on during my life. As good friends, family and pets made their transitions. I’ve made my peace with what I cannot control. As a writer I look at retirement and death as simple another chapter in my book of life. A blank page for me to fill with whatever catches my attention. Thankfully, I am blessed with good health and the means to live comfortably. Gratitude for this gives me great peace.

What I’ve spent time reflecting on is if my lifetime of teaching made a contribution in the lives of those I taught. It is my fervent hope that I made a difference in their lives. Since, I know I’ve learned a much from my students. Amazing people that opened my heart and often touched my soul. My life is a blip in time. The shared humanity of the people who walked my path has enriched my life immeasurably. People and their stories that I’ll never forget. Who touched your life and why?

IMG_0449

About Casey Knight

Professor, author, mother, and nature lover.
This entry was posted in reading, Uncategorized, writing and walking in the surf and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What Does Retirement Mean?

  1. Yes, retirement is just the dawning of a new era in your life. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

