Finding Success

hillquote

I am coming to realize one of the best parts of retirement is the time to reflect. Napoleon Hill and Thomas Edison understood life to be a series of trial and error. Edison famously stated, “he didn’t fail he found 10,000 ways that didn’t work.” He recognized like Hill success usually waited one step beyond his latest failure. When looking back on my career I’ve found many examples to support the theory.

For me, it meant being too focused on my goal to waste any time worrying about failure. I assumed I’d succeed. My mind did not recognize failure as a choice. Instead I focused my attention on preparing to thrive. This combined with rolling up my sleeves and working hard on my goal carried me to success. Many times I stumbled and bumbled my way through new material and expectations. I allotted no time for worry. Failure just wasn’t an idea I accepted. How did you find your greatness?

 

About Casey Knight

Professor, author, mother, and nature lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

