Giving Thanks

download.jpg

Thanksgiving is nearly here, and it signals the start of the holiday season. Depending on one’s point of view this is either a good thing or a dreaded thing. First the turkey then the tree. Followed closely by Auld Lang Syne. Then another year to recover before we do it again.

It isn’t unusual to count the passing of days by holidays. Memorial Day signals the unofficial start of summer and Labor Day signals a return to school. February marks Lincoln and Washington’s birthdays and cupid’s big day. Entwined with ever holiday are memories both bitter and sweet. Who can forget their child’s first Thanksgiving, birthday or seasonal celebration?

I don’t know about you, but they mean more to me now than they did when I was a child. My parents and grandparents have made their transitions leaving me to make new traditions with my family. I hold their consciousness in my heart. They are never truly gone. Yet, I’ve made traditions with my family. Hiding jelly beans and leaving notes from the Easter Bunny for my daughter. Praying she’d find them before the dogs did.

This Thanksgiving and every night before I sleep I give thanks. Thanks for my daughter, my friends, my family, Travis (weimaraner) and for the country I’m lucky to live in. None of us is perfect, and neither is our country. We’re people trying every day to be kinder and more loving. I wish you all a blessed day.

About Casey Knight

Professor, author, mother, and nature lover.
This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

