Valentines and Other Random Acts of Kindness

 

Tomorrow the country celebrates Valentine’s Day. Flowers, candy, candlelight and other delights. Fine for those people with someone special to share the holiday with. Harder for those without a Valentine. Not the people who opt to remain single. The people whose Valentine is no longer present. Their loved one may have passed or be away from home. I pray their memories warm their hearts.

 

In elementary school, everyone had to give every student a valentine. No one was excluded. Not so as we grow older. Hunter Hayes croons, “Everybody’s Got Somebody But Me.” He laments, “I’d love to take a pin to a heart-shaped balloon.” The image makes me smile. No worries, I’m not sitting home plotting to deflate each heart-shaped balloon.

 

Instead, I’m going to give candy hearts and cards to everyone I meet tomorrow. I volunteer with the local police department. When I check on the people who are house bound, I’ll bring my cards and candy. A much more productive approach than sharpening my pin. How will you celebrate tomorrow?

 

About Casey Knight

Professor, author, mother, and nature lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

