Can’t Put it Down? Great Characters?

Supernatural Games (1)

 

When was the last time you read a book you couldn’t put down? Have you slowed down your reading, to stretch out a book? I have. Harry Potter, The Lord of the Rings, The Hunger Games. The characters became family. Years later you wondered what they’re doing. Did Katniss and Peeta find peace? Have the Hobbits returned to the shire? Is Hogwarts still teaching young wizards?

Where have all the memorable characters gone? I read everything I can download to my e-reader. Lately, the characters disappoint. Have we become too formulaic as writers? How many kick-ass heroines can we imagine? A seemingly endless number. Yet, are they or any characters compelling? Do you care when the book ends? Did we laugh, cry, cheer or grieve as their stories unfolded?

The last character I got caught up in was my own. Lauren Simon makes me laugh and cheer for her badass cheekiness. Traygen’s chivalrousness and Tokem’s smartass banter speak to me. There is an easy answer on why. They are all parts of my own personality. Flaws, warts, and all. Lauren tells it like she sees it. She’s rich, beautiful and she rains hell down on evil doers. Thoughts which cross my mind in rush hour traffic.

 

 

About Casey Knight

Professor, author, mother, and nature lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

