Grateful Heart

untitled

Yesterday was Father’s Day, and I sent warm thoughts to my Dad where he now resides in heaven. He passed two years ago and I think of the life lessons he demonstrated for me. Thank you, Dad, for being principled and honest. You set a great example for me and I know for my daughter.
My daughter is adopted and doesn’t know her birth father. Fortunately, her other mother married a wonderful man. A man who took her into his heart and remembers her special days. There is a special place in my heart for him. A quiet man of quiet faith, blessed with a gentle nature. His only fault is his stubborn support of Oregon State when they play my USC Trojans.
My daughter treated him to dinner last night and thanked him for being a father figure these many years. It brought a tear to my eye and I know he was touched beyond words. I’ll add my thanks to this kind man who made a special contribution to our diverse family. Namaste, my friend.

About Casey Knight

Professor, author, mother, and nature lover.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

