Keeping the High Watch

thMy daughter is on her own now and making her way in this world. She attends college, works part time and still calls home when she needs a hand. Usually, it’s a monetary infusion. Ask any mother and they’ll tell you when your child’s number shows on the screen you answer.
We let them go so many times in life. Their first steps, kindergarten, summer camp, the keys to the car, and college. Each with equal measures of joy and trepidation. When they are young, we hover ready to swoop in. Once they leave home we pray. Knowing they don’t want us to hover. Trusting they’ll make good decision and if not knowing God has their back.
Eagles make their nests high up, so they can push their young out when it’s time to fly. Penguins push their young off the ice to force them to swim. Cows and horses nudge their young to their feet knowing their wobble legs will hold them to nurse. They trust in the natural order of things.
Animals have it right. They know their young will soar, swim, or walk. Do humans have the same confidence? This is no easy question. Did I trust her to walk and talk and talk… yes. Do I believe she is her own person and a good one? Yes, I do. Do I wish she’d find her way sooner than later? My answer is the same. Yet, I know her path is the one she will follow and I trust God watches over her. She may be out of sight, but never from my heart.

About Casey Knight

Retired professor, author, mother, and nature lover.
This entry was posted in Family, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment